Knitting a Scarf

Earlier, I detailed my adventures in crocheting. Whereas my grandmother taught me how to crochet, all that experience and the reading of books could not teach me how to knit: I had to give birth to a little girl named Ajah who became adept at many fiber arts at a young age, and she finally taught me how to knit when she was seven or eight.

Currently, I am knitting a scarf. And for some reason, I look at it as a minor miracle…I have nice wool yarn someone gave me from local sheep, bamboo needles Ajah made for me out of beads and barbecue skewers, and now I am making something nice from what seems like thin air.

I used to only be able to “purl,” but now, I know how to knit and purl, and that makes all the difference…apparently, I could make a pair of socks. For now, though, I make a scarf: line after line of either stitch, and if I have enough yarn leftover, I could add tassels on each end and really finish the project in style.

So, how is knitting so much different from crochet that it should be so difficult for me to grasp? Well, for starters, it’s twice as many tools required: two needles instead of one, so if you lose one, you are finished.

Secondly, and I am sorry if this offends the reader, people that knit tend to look down on crocheting. Note that I did not say they look down on crocheters, because it is true that many yarn fanciers do both. But, in the hierarchy of yarn and fiber artists,  macramé’  may be at the bottom of the totem pole there, closely followed by crochet. Think of the plant hangers  of the 1970s (or are they considered vintage now, and cool again like the Schwinn bikes of that era?) and then crocheted tams perched atop Twiggy-esque models. Knitting is decidedly considered more advanced fashion (and holds up better), with weaving generally claiming the tip of the pyramid for durability and skill levels.

In my beginner’s opinion, I still find knitting harder than crochet or weaving. I can crochet with my eyes closed or while reading a book, but I can barely knit while watching both needles. for whatever reason. As for weaving, it can be done with just a piece of cardboard pr simple potholder loom, but the Granddaddy  of all mega-fiber arts in the loom. Someone who knows how to use one that fills half a room is one who is regarded as a one who knows their craft. That person is not me, but I do possess a table top loom, and so that means I at least enjoy my attempts.

But knitting is exempt, and therefore rich ladies will continue to meet in yarn shops and drink tea while talking about their “work.” A cable-knit sweater, a pair of baby socks being worked on with fine-point needles, or a balaclava for the nephew…crochet projects, as much as I love them, have been relegated as white elephant gifts. Am I a bit sensitive? Perhaps.

For now, though, I want to be admitted into the misleadingly snobby world of knitting. Not so that I can hang out with rich ladies and drink their tea, but so I can go to a yarn store, and have a good reason to justify my purchase while talking about what gauge needles I am going to use on my next project and fondling two-ply or three-ply yarns.

If I am the kind of person who is going to raise Angora rabbits to knit a scarf, I am certainly also going to try to be the type of person who will try to gain proficiency  with a knitting needles so I can complete a project I started.

One comment

  1. […] Knitting a Scarf (horseshoehill.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

